top of page

CDC Community Excels at 2019 Ohio State Tournament

CDC states2019.jpg
At the 2019 OSDA State Finals, Lincoln-Douglas debater Nick Protasiewicz, coached by James Lewis, won first place in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Nick also won the state championship in 2018. He attended Classic Debate Camp for the last 3 summers, and Nick will be joining the CDC LD Staff in 2019. Tia Speece, who attended CDC in 2017, was the runner-up, and Robert Duncan, who attended CDC in 2018, was a semi-finalist. Twelve other CDC LD debaters also made it to the first break round: Nehal Chigurupati, Jane Jusko, Audrey Owens, Zach Paganini, Matthew Rossi, Julia Scott, Allie Dettelbach, Bryce Edison, Hannah Kim, Mourad Zeynalov, Karishma Ponkshe, and Clare Abboud.  
In public forum debate, Nate Mayor and his partner Sukhm Kang advanced to the final round along with their University School teammates Kiran Krishnamurthi and John DeSantis. Thus, Nate was declared a co-champion in PF. Kiran will be joining the PF staff at CDC this summer. Altogether 11 PF teams at states had at least one member who had attended CDC, and 6 of those teams made it to the first elimination round or later. The CDC PF debaters who broke were Grace Cousens, Nina Zlataric, Abraham Paik, Daniel Yan, Anish Ganesh, Nate Mayor, Hannah McCollough, and Szofi Wiksell.

CDC Congratulates

2019 New Mexico PF Champions

At the New Mexico state tournament, Bella Willhite and her partner Addy Moore went 7-0 and won 1st place, and Emily Wentworth won the Top Speaker award in PF. Bella and Emily attended CDC in 2018.

bottom of page