© 2016, Classic Debate Camp, LLC

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Classic Debate Camp  offers you

the opportunity to...

  • work one-on-one with outstanding coaches and former champions

  • connect with other kids who love speech and debate

  • gain the skills needed to reach the next level

  • experience the beautiful campus of Miami University (Ohio)

Classic Debate Camp Alumni Focused As They Start 2020

On January 10-11, at Sylvania, the largest tournament in Ohio, CDC competitors won three events: Kyle Boyer won the IX championship, Nehal Chigurupati won the LD championship, and Daniel Yan and Abraham Paik won the PF championship. In LD, 6 of the 8 Sylvania quarterfinalists were CDC debaters: Allie Dettelbach (who won 2nd), Sydney Hardern, Destynn Keuchel, Saavan Patel, and Mourad Zeynalov. In PF, the team of Jack Miranda and John DeSantis and the team of Alex Ye and Amogh Iyanna both made the quarterfinals.

Also on January 10-11, in Jackson, Mississippi, Sarah Grace Shurden won 1st place at the Mustang Debate Invitational. In other Ohio action, at Hoover, 4 of the top 6 LD debaters were CDC alumni: Carlos Levine won 6th, Hannah Kim won 4th, Robert Duncan won 2nd, and Leila Hamdan won 1st. In PF, Sophie Brandewie and Chloe Doyle won 4th, and Sophie Alber and Julianna Bragg won 2nd. At Berea-Midpark, in LD, Jackson Sturtevant won 6th and Jane Jusko won 4th, and in PF, Sarah Hatem and Abby McGowan won 4th, and Barbara Yang and Katherine Cassese won 3rd. And in LD at JFK, John Dragos won 4th, and Emily Mashqbeh won 3rd. With their strong work this weekend, 7 CDC alumni won their 4th bids to the Ohio State Tournament: Allie Dettelbach, Robert Duncan, Sydney Hardern, Jane Jusko, Destynn Keuchel, Saavan Patel, and Mourad Zeynalov. Go to the Tournament Results page to see all the State Qualifiers and Tournament Champions so far this season.

On January 3-4, CDC alumni had their eyes on the prize at Brecksville: Daniel Yan and Abraham Paik went 7-0 and won the PF championship, and Nehal Chigurupati went 7-0 and won LD. Jessica Chang won 1st in her Congress chamber. And at Olentangy, Kyle Boyer won 1st in IX. 

University KK Wins Blake

and CDC PF Debaters Win

Howland and Kenston!

On December 21, University KK (Sukhm Kang and Sai Karnati) defeated Blake JS in the final round of the Blake tournament in Minneapolis. University YP (Daniel Yan and Abraham Paik) advanced to semis without dropping a ballot and were walked over by University KK. Abraham also won 15th best speaker in PF. University KK and YP are coached by CDC Director Peter Paik. In Ohio PF action, Zoe Bailey and Jenna Chmelik won 1st at Howland, and Abby McGowan and Sarah Hatem won 1st at Kenston. Drake Du won 1st in Congress at Glenoak.

Two-Time NCFL Lincoln-Douglas National Champion Maya Arora

Joins the Classic Debate CampStaff

LD debater Maya Arora, currently a senior at Cape Fear Academy in Wilmington, North Carolina, will be teaching at Classic Debate Camp in the summer of 2020. Maya won the NCFL Grand National Tournament both in 2017, as a 9th grader, and in 2019, as an 11th grader. She becomes the 5th national champion on the CDC Staff, following Natalie Schaller (NSDA LD 2017), Eva Lamberson (NCFL LD 2018), Grace Johannes (NSDA LD 2019), and David Lyons (NSDA WSD 2019). See Maya's bio on the LD Staff Page.

Classic Debate Camp  Adds Extemp

and Congressional Debate!

CDC is now offering students instruction in Extemporaneous Speaking and Congressional Debate as well as Public Forum debate and traditional Lincoln-Douglas debate. Extempers may focus on either International (IX) or United States (USX) at CDC. Mr. Kevin McDougal, four time State Champion Coach of Extemp, is the senior instructor and curriculum coordinator of our Extemp & Congress division. Kasey Pukys, Ohio state champion in IX in 2018, is our junior instructor in Extemp & Congress. She helped to coach the 2019 state champions in both IX and USX. Mr. McDougal's and Kasey's bios are on the Extemp & Congress Staff page. More Extemp & Congress staff members will be added as the division grows.