CDC Graduates Compete and Reunite at the National Tournament

Altogether, 12 Classic Debate Camp graduates competed at the 2018 NSDA National Tournament held in Fort Lauderdale, FL. Katie Blowers competed in LD, Michael John Larenas-Leach competed in PF, and Karishma Ponkshe competed in World Schools Debate. In speech events, CA LD state champ Tim Huang competed in International Extemporaneous Speaking and advanced to the top 60 while Auryon Azar competed in Dramatic Interpretation and also advanced to the top 60. In the elimination rounds of World Schools Debate, Tian Treb advanced to the double-octafinal round (top 32) and both Nikki Peter and Tia Speece advanced to the octafinal round (top 16). In the elimination rounds of Lincoln-Douglas, Max Bradley made it to round 9, Isaiah Paik made round 10, and Eva Lamberson reached round 12 and won 11th place. Most impressively, in Big Questions Debate, sophomore Clare Abboud advanced to the final round of competition and won 2nd place on a close 4-3 decision. Along with her 2nd place trophy, Clare won a $5000 scholarship. Finally, coach James Lewis was honored with his first coaching diamond from the NSDA. Other CDC instructors who attended nationals were Matt Slencsak; Leslie Muhlbach, who is now serving on the NSDA LD Wording Committee; Jacob Schriner-Briggs, who qualified two PF teams to nationals, one making it to round 11 and one advancing to round 13; and Peter Paik, who was a judge in the final round of PF.

What do the 2018 Ohio state champion, the California state champion, and the NCFL national champion have in common?

All three champions attended CDC!

In March 2018, Nick Protasiewicz of University School won 1st place in Lincoln-Douglas debate at the Ohio Speech and Debate Association state tournament. In April, Tim Huang of Monte Vista High School won 1st place in LD at the California High School Speech Association state tournament. And in May, Eva Lamberson of Canfield High School won 1st place in LD at the National Catholic Forensic League Grand National Tournament. Nick, Tim, and Eva attended CDC in the summer of 2017. Watch Tim's testimonial on Curriculum page and Eva's testimonial on the Camp at Kenyon page.

CDC Debaters Are Starting Strong in 2018-2019:

  • On November 10, CDC debaters had a very good day. In LD, they won 4 of the 5 tournaments in Ohio: Uzair Ahmed won Findlay, Spencer Kawalek won Hawken, Matt Rossi won Niles, and Robert Duncan won Stow-Monroe Falls. In PF, the team of Hannah McCullough and Kabir Doshi won Mason, and the team of Nate Mayor and Sukhm Kang won Hawken.

  • Four CDC debaters earned their 4th bids to the Ohio state tournament, bidding out in the shortest time possible: Anish Ganesh, Nate Mayor, Abraham Paik, and Matt Rossi. 

  • In addition to the CDC campers above, 12 other debaters won bids: Grace Cousens, Szofi Wiksell, Daniel Yan, and Nina Zlataric won bids in PF. Clare Abboud, Dylan Fitzpatrick, Audrey Owens, Zach Paganini, Saavan Patel, Karishma Ponkshe, Canaan Smith, and Mourad Zeynalov won bids in LD.


CDC Congratulates Our First Ohio State Champion and Our First City Club of Cleveland Champion

At the 2018 Ohio State Tournament, junior Nick Protasiewicz won first place in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Nick also attended CDC in 2016 and 2017. Last summer, his lab instructors were Matt Slencsak, Andrew Gilmore, and Edith Lui. Nick will be returning to CDC as a camper for the 3rd time in the summer of 2018.
In Public Forum debate, 2017 CDC camper Anish Ganesh and his partner Akash Salgia advanced to semis and won 3rd place. Last summer, Anish's lab leaders were Leslie Muhlbach, Will Walker, and Will Frankel. During the school year, Anish and Akash are coached by Peter Paik, CDC Director.  
At the 2018 High School Debate Championship hosted by the City Club of Cleveland on March 16, Isaiah Paik defeated Sebastian Williams. Isaiah attended CDC in 2016 and 2017. Isaiah will be joining the CDC staff in 2018 as an LD instructor. Read his bio on LD Staff page.