How are CDC debaters doing so far in 2018-2019?

  • On February 9-11, at the Stanford Invitational, the Public Forum team of Daniel Yan and Sai Karnati and the team of Anish Ganesh and Abraham Paik both advanced to the octa-final round and earned their second bids to the Tournament of Champions. The team of Nate Mayor and Sukhm Kang advanced to the final round and won 2nd place out of 198 teams.Thanks to everyone who attended the third annual Classic Debate Camp Winter Workshop and Reunion on Saturday, December 28, 2019. Altogether we welcomed 28 students from 11 different schools. We were especially thankful for the students who were willing to drive long distances to attend - students who came from as far away as Edgerton (west of Toledo), Oakwood (Dayton area), and Olentangy (Columbus area). It was also great to reunite with old staff members Will Frankel (2017) and Andrew Gilmore (2017, 2018) as well as current staff members Jen Gonda, Isaiah Paik, Zach Paganini, Nick Protasiewicz, Kiran Krishnamurthi, and David Lyons. A surprise appearance was also made by CDC co-founder James Lewis!

  • On February 8-9, at the Bethel Park Invitational near Pittsburgh, in Lincoln-Douglas debate, Clare Abboud, Nehal Chigurupati, and Zach Paganini advanced to the octafinals. Nick Protasiewicz advanced to the final round of LD and won 1st place. In Public Forum debate, the team of Varun Tamaskar and Suhas Cingireddi advanced to the octa-final round and the team of Ananth Menon and Zak Quereshy reached the quarterfinals. The team of Szofi Wiksell and Emily Fischer made it to the finals and won 1st place.

  • On January 29, at Liberty, five of the six LD finalists were CDC alumni: Robert Duncan won 1st, Bryce Edison won 2nd, Matthew Rossi won 4th, Julia Scott won 5th, and Saavan Patel won 6th. And in PF, the team of  Abraham Paik and Arthur Li won 1st place, Ananth Menon and James Cullers won 4th, and Varun Tamaskar and Stefan Radjenovic won 5th.

Classic Debate Camp Releases

LD Brief for March-April 2020 

The lead author was CDC instructor Grace Johannes (2019 NSDA LD national champion). It is on the topic of predictive policing and features analytical essays by other Classic Debate Camp instructors, including Eva Lamberson (2018 NCFL national champion) and Nick Protasiewicz (2018, 2019 Ohio state champion). Classic Debate Camp is offering this brief as a free resource to everyone. Click the icon to the right and enjoy!

Discounts for CDC-V 2020: 


Early Registration Discount If you register and pay by June 1, 2020, take a $100 discount for signing up early.

Non-Ohio Student Travel Discount If you will be travelling to CDC at Miami University from outside of Ohio, take an additional $100 discount to help with travel expenses. If you fly into the Cincinnati airport, we will provide free ground transportation from the airport to camp and back. (Sorry this discount doesn't apply to CDC-V since there will be no travel costs for attending the online camp.)

Returning Student Discount If you attended CDC in a previous year, take an additional $75 discount.

Multiple Students Discount If two or more students from the same school are coming to CDC, each student receives an additional $50 discount.

Paying by Check Discount If you pay the camp tuition by check, take an additional $25 discount.

Full tuition for Classic Debate Camp at Miami, including dorm room and all meals:


Full tuition for Classic Debate Camp - Virtual: $1290


Single Dorm Rooms: For improved health and safety, all students will be housed in single rooms at no additional charge.

Tuition may be paid in monthly installments: 

Individualized monthly payment plans are available.

No Refund Policy:  Please be advised that refunds will not be given under any circumstances.

Classic Debate Camp (TM)  prepares you to succeed at tournaments:

  • So far 13 CDC debaters have qualified for the 2019 NSDA national tournament

  • 43 CDC debaters qualified for the 2019 Ohio state tournament

  • So far this season, CDC debaters have won 1st place in LD at 31 tournaments and 1st place in PF at 16 tournaments

  • Last spring, CDC LD debaters won 1st place at the Ohio state tournament, the California state tournament, and the NCFL grand national tournament

  • Go to Results for details

What do the 2018 Ohio state champion, the California state champion, and the NCFL national champion have in common?


In March 2018, Nick Protasiewicz won 1st place in Lincoln-Douglas at the Ohio Speech and Debate Association state tournament. In April, Tim Huang won 1st place in LD at the California High School Speech Association state tournament. And in May, Eva Lamberson won 1st place in LD at the National Catholic Forensic League Grand National Tournament. Nick, Tim, and Eva all attended Classic Debate Camp in the summer of 2017. Eva will be an LD instructor next summer. Watch Tim's testimonial and Eva's testimonial.

Classic Debate Camp Logo-rgb.png
2020 Winter Workshop & Reunion RSVP Form

Thanks for your RSVP for the 2020 Winter Workshop & Reunion. Please complete the credit card payment form below to complete your registration.

University YP qualifies for Tournament of Champions!

The University School Public Forum debate team of Daniel Yan and Abraham Paik have earned 6 TOC bids so far this season: They got their bids at the Holy Cross, Yale, Bronx, Florida Blue Key, Glenbrooks, and Sunvite. Daniel and Abraham attended Classic Debate Camp together in the summer of 2018. Then Daniel attended CDC again in 2019, and Abraham attended CDC-V in 2020. Abraham's PF lab leaders included NSDA national champion coach Mr. Rich Haber and NSDA national champion PF debater Maggie Mills.  

CDC Announces the Participants in the First



The inaugural Ohio Tournament of Champions (OH TOC) will be hosted by Classic Debate Camp and Gahanna Lincoln High School in Columbus, Ohio, on April 13, 2019. The OH TOC will be an opportunity for the best Ohio debaters to come together once more this year and compete with each other. For NSDA national qualifiers, the OH TOC will help you stay sharp; for UK TOC qualifiers, the OH TOC will be a good warm-up. For every champion debater, it will be one more chance to hang out with your debate friends from around Ohio and to do what you love to do most: debate. Plus there will be cash prizes. Go to OH TOC invite.

CDC Announces the Participants in the First



The inaugural Ohio Tournament of Champions (OH TOC) will be hosted by Classic Debate Camp and Gahanna Lincoln High School in Columbus, Ohio, on April 13, 2019. Spectators are welcome. Please RSVP by emailing The contestants in the inaugural OH TOC are the following:


Bryce Edison, Boardman

Matthew Rossi, Cardinal Mooney

Soren Polencik, Hawken

Mourad Zeynalov, Hawken

Robert Duncan, Louisville

Tony Liu, Mason

Audrey Owens, Oakwood

Nehal Chigurupati, University

Public Forum:

George Sdregas and Dylan Fitz-Patrick, Cardinal Mooney

and Austintown-Fitch

Maggie Mills and Sasha Haines, Chagrin Falls

Krishna Mukunda and Ben Cohen, Hawken

Alex Ye and Amey Haridhas, Mason

Anish Ganesh and Abraham Paik, University

Arthur Li and Varun Tamaskar, University