top of page

At Classic Debate Camp   you can...

Registration for CDC2024 is now OPEN for all divisions. Click HERE to sign up now.  

Starting in 2024, we are lengthening our Congressional Debate division to 7 days-6 nights! Congress will start on Saturday, 7/13, with LD & PF, and conclude on Friday, 7/19.


2022 Lincoln-Douglas National Champion and 2023 Minnesota State Champion Hannah Owens Pierre Is Coming to CDC 2023!

At the National Tournament hosted by the National Speech and Debate Association in Louisville last summer, Hannah won 1st Place in Lincoln-Douglas Debate, surpassing over 260 other competitors. More recently, she also prevailed at her state tournament in Minnesota.  Hannah competes for Edina High School near Minneapolis. She will be joining our 2023 LD staff along with Katie Jack, who was the 2021 NSDA National Champion and Colorado State Champion in LD. Previous national champions who have taught at Classic Debate Camp include Natalie Schaller (LD NSDA 2017), Maya Arora (LD NCFL 2017, 2019), Grace Johannes (LD NSDA 2019), Kennedy Hughes and David Lyons (WSD NSDA 2019), and Sasha Haines and Maggie Mills (PF NSDA 2020). Read Hannah's staff bio here
Screen Shot 2020-03-30 at 6_edited.jpg

Two-Time New Mexico State Champion PF Debater Bella Willhite Returns to Classic Debate Camp!

Bella Willhite came to CDC from La Cueva High School in Albuquerque, New Mexico, in the summer of 2018 before her junior year. In the following debate season, she won her first PF state championship. Then she repeated as PF state champion in her senior year with a different partner. Bella is also an very accomplished college debater in the British Parliamentary debate format and has debated all over the world. Read more about Bella here

The 2022 Ohio State Champion and 2023 Runner-Up PF Debater Luke Wagner Joins CDC Public Forum Staff 

Last year, Luke Wagner and Brooke Lieser won 1st place in Public Forum at the 2022 Ohio Speech and Debate Association (OSDA) State Tournament. This year, they advanced all the way to the final round at states, but lost that round on a close 2-3 decision. Luke is excited to join the team of outstanding PF instructors at Classic Debate Camp, including Abraham Paik, 2021 Ohio State Runner-Up, and Ananth Menon, 2021 TOC PF Gold Runner-Up. Read Luke's staff bio here. To watch the 2023 OSDA state tournament PF final round, click here
State Champion Coach Rich Kawolics Joins CDC LD Staff!
Rich Kawolics is the coach of the 2023 Ohio state champion in Lincoln-Douglas debate. He served as the head coach of Laurel School in the Cleveland District from 2004 to 2022, before stepping down and becoming the Laurel team's assistant coach for LD. Read his staff bio here. To watch the 2023 OSDA state tournament LD final round, click here

We want YOU
to join us!

bottom of page